How do I temporarily connect a computer to my AVR?

Swerd

Swerd

Audioholic Warlord
Of course I use the Aux1 button on the remote. See:

denon avr-x4500h remote control page

What operating system is on the Laptop?
The laptop is not mine. It belongs to an in-law … a Mac, I think. He also brought the HDMI cable that he uses at home, to hook it to a TV set. He has no HT.

I studied my AVR remote control yesterday, with reading glasses on as it's print is impossibly tiny. There is no button to select the front panel HDMI input, so I do have to select one of the existing buttons.

After a lot of stumbling around the owner's manual, I think I found something useful, on page 207. At least it confirms that AUX1 on the remote selects the front HDMI port.
1726933874915.png

Last edited:
Swerd

Swerd

Audioholic Warlord
@Trebdp83
Denon says that front HDMI port is meant for a video camcorder or game console. Right now I'm not sure if that is enough to support digital videos downloaded from Amazon Prime.

In the Appendix section, on page 302, I found this. At the bottom, below the table, it says: The HDMI connector on the front panel supports YCbCr 4:2:0 format only.

I'm not sure what that means. Can anyone translate? (I repeat, I hate this manual!)

1726934565320.png

Swerd

Swerd

Audioholic Warlord
Thanks for all the hints & suggestions*. They provided search words to use as I stumbled around that Damn Denon manual.

* I continue to ignore any & all hints that require going to YouTube. Life is too short to waste looking there for useful info. As always, YMMV.

Last edited:
-Jim-

-Jim-

Audioholic General
@Swerd You are digging too deeply at this. Don't worry about that Color format specifications. You are looking at an upconverting chart which is not applicable here.

Looking at a diagram of your Denon with The Door Open (or the screenshot I took below)

Denon AVR X4500H receiver - Door Open.jpg