Onkyo AVR on the blink; Turntable preamp

Squishman

Squishman

Audioholic General
No Idea. I just plug stuff in! Just kidding. I am no electrical engineer, but I can discern a difference with this cheap preamp. I do not understand belaboring this issue. TLS guy thinks I am clipping or blowing my ears out or ruining my fiend's loaner amp with Kinks LP's. All I said was I bought a cheap-ass tt preamp and I can tell it is cheap by my own ears. It is not heinous. It is just not as good.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
No Idea. I just plug stuff in! Just kidding. I am no electrical engineer, but I can discern a difference with this cheap preamp. I do not understand belaboring this issue. TLS guy thinks I am clipping or blowing my ears out or ruining my fiend's loaner amp with Kinks LP's. All I said was I bought a cheap-ass tt preamp and I can tell it is cheap by my own ears. It is not heinous. It is just not as good.
When you get your regular gear back, send that in to Amir/ASR for a run thru the test gizmo.....

I've used various phono stages built into gear as well as a stand alone unit (an ART Phono Plus) and I haven't had any issues or any particular audio differences between the various gear. I don't think I'd ever have considered buying anything Pyle, tho. :) I'm just curious about what might account for the audible difference.....and it is likely more in the distortion/noise area rather than simply applying the RIAA eq.....

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
Why are you antagonistic towards me? This is just so weird.