confederate symbols

GO-NAD!

GO-NAD!

Audioholic Spartan
As far as Jackson goes, I consider him highly over rated. He also probably shot more of his own men for disciplinary reasons than any other general in the war. As brilliant as his Valley campaign was, he was awful in the seven days battles. His troops deserted en masse during the invasion of Maryland in 1862. He missed an opportunity to counter attack during the battle of Fredericksburg when the union troops had their backs to the river. Finally, he had no business being where he was ahead of the lines when he was mortally wounded.

I am an avid student of the Civil war, have a large bookcase full of books and have been to most every major and minor battle site in the Eastern theater including more obscure ones like Ball's bluff and Cross Keys. I cannot recommend strongly enough "Battle Cry of Freedom" by James MacPherson. It won a Pulitzer and is the best one volume work there is on the subject. Half the book leads up to the civil war. When you are done, you will realize how wrong the South was about everything.800 pages and well worth your time. Ken Burns series has aged rather badly, one of the few things he has done that has done so.
I know of the book, but haven't read it. It's on my list now though. I find this observation from Wikipedia quite interesting. Battle Cry of Freedom (book) - Wikipedia