Perlisten S7t Tower Speaker Review

D

Dan Nagar

Audiophyte
Or it's not Audyssey causing the hiss particularly, but rather the pre-pro manufacturer who installed it. I have a variety of avrs with Audyssey, hiss has never been an issue (and it would be for me if it was the cause, I'd return the electronics).

ps in reading many many threads on the subject, can't say anyone else reported hiss except you.
thats definitely an option - for example - Dirac adds about 6db boost the when its engaged, that can add hiss if there a gain structure issue between pre/pro.

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
can't comment on Audyssey ,as i have no experience with it .
i have used a few RC system in my past and now using only Dirac.
Dirac is the only room correction that I think is worthwhile for a full range correction. While I haven't used Audyssey limited to bass range, my hunch is that it is probably OK for just the transition frequency and below.

T

Trebdp83

Audioholic Ninja
Since this thread is already a long way off of the main road and into the cornfield, I think "room correction" is a misnomer. The software isn't doing anything to the room at all. It is trying to produce the best sound while compensating for the acoustics of the room. I think is should be called Room Acoustics Compensation. I mean, who wouldn't appreciate a nice RAC?

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord
Or it's not Audyssey causing the hiss particularly, but rather the pre-pro manufacturer who installed it. I have a variety of avrs with Audyssey, hiss has never been an issue (and it would be for me if it was the cause, I'd return the electronics).

ps in reading many many threads on the subject, can't say anyone else reported hiss except you.
Yeah I've never heard any hiss either, and it would definitely piss me off if I did.