Hegel H390 or H190 for Focal Aria 926?

D

dukehoops

Enthusiast
Is there any appreciable benefit to pairing Focal Aria 926 with Hegel H390 vs H190? Will sound quality be noticeably different?

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Why do you think there would be a particular difference between the two for your use? Why Hegel?

D

dukehoops

Enthusiast
Hegel because read good things though no first hand experience. Hoping no difference for the particular speakers so i can save and buy the less expensive model. But looking to hear especially from folks that experienced both combinations.

John Parks

John Parks

Audioholic Samurai
I’ve had no experience with your specific combo, but demo’d the Hegel H160 (precursor to the 190) with KEF’s R500, Reference 1 and Blade II. It had absolutely no issues driving any of those speakers quite loudly in a large room (and sounded great to boot!). Unless you are thinking you may be missing that last bit of headroom, the H190 should be more than adequate.

P

PENG

Audioholic Slumlord
May be may be not. It depends on your actual power need. The H390 will give you a couple dB more headroom so it may make a difference if you happen to need to tap into that extra "power". Otherwise no difference. As others have asked, why those? For the money you can go with a real "separate" power amp and gain more than just 1-2 dB headroom over a mid range AVR. Integrated amps with onboard DAC and other gadgets are unnecessary compromises, but that's just my opinion. You can easily get better DACs with better specs, can play more formats, for less money. Same for streamers.. For the convenience, I can see the benefits of having anything in on box but then you may as well get an AVR for a lot less, then again ymmv for sure.