Noisy neighbours. Would like to return the consideration.

U

ukqq

Enthusiast
I live in an apartment building and the folks living directly underneath me play their music very loud. Speaking to them or resolving it amicably with them or building management has yielded zero results. Moving is not an option at this stage but will do as soon as possible.

I'm a total noob when it comes to speaker set up so would greatly appreciate any help and guidance. I've done a little reading today.

I want to create as much noise as possible without bothering the people above and to the side of me.

I think the most logical choice would be down firing subwoofers? Not attached to this at all just seemed to make most sense?
Can I have just subwoofers? Can I have multiple subwoofers? I don't want other speakers if I don't need them. I think I know that subwoofers won't produce any sound other than low ones and I'm okay with that.
My flooring is tiled. Does that matter or change anything?
Can speakers overheat? I'd want to muffle the sound as much as possible from all directions except down, again I don't want to bother the people around me as much possible, so I'm thinking if I have the subwoofers in large 150-250L upturned containers with blankets stuffed around the subs that may help dampen the sound but got a feeling that might be a fire hazard? So any alternative suggestion to achieve same or similar thing if blankets in containers around subs is stupid?
How would or should I connect them to whatever device is playing the music. This can be whatever works e.g. PC, bluetooth, phone, hifi system etc.
I don't mind if they're wired or wireless. Again whatever works.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
You'd likely still bother your neighbors, subs are omni-radiators and bass can travel easily thru walls/ceilings/floors depending on construction of the building. Sounds like your building doesn't have the soundproofing. This kind of revenge isn't a good idea in several ways.