Ceiling Speakers & Placement?

D

dpriest

Audioholic Intern
Hi all,
I am relatively new to the world of home theater, ceiling speakers height placement for speakers in general. I am designing my home theater room in a house I just bought. In the past I have done a 5.1 system but waiting for the Yamaha Aventage a2a 7.2 receiver to get to me. I have pictures of the room with the previous owner's setup. The buit-in cabinet will remain and I have bookshelf speakers that I was thinking of placing the L,R & Center speakers similarly to the picture. One of the pictures shows the rear L & R speakers mounted on the wall high close to the ceiling. The seating area and LP will be somewhere in the middle between the front and back of the room. I am also planning on having 2 subs, one placed in the front and one in the back.

Question #1: Would it be better to mount my rear speakers in the same height position or to mount them lower on the wall?

Question #2: I was considering mounting 2 speakers in the ceiling. I would assume the ceiling speakers will take advantage of movies encoded with Atmos as the audio. Will the added ceiling speakers be able to add to the sound from non-Atmos audio with movies and would either DTS or Dolby 5.1 benefit from the ceiling speakers?

GetMedia (1).jpg
GetMedia.jpg

James S.

James S.

Junior Audioholic
Your bed layer should be ear height when seated. So you would need to lower those speakers. You need the seperation between the bed layer and ceiling speakers for Atmos to work properly. Also, the receivers will have an upmixer that will upmix non-Atmos/DTS:X material to put information to the ceiling speakers.

D

dpriest

Audioholic Intern
Perfect. Now I am looking for recommendations on speakers to get for the ceiling. I would need a speaker with a box because the floor upstairs is finished/kitchen area.

D

dpriest

Audioholic Intern