Mismatch in impedance vs frequency curve (datasheet versus measurement)

H

henryTheCat

Audiophyte
Hi @all!
I am new to the forum and wanted to ask a question about the impedance curve of a speaker.

I am rather new to the world of audio speakers and currently playing around to get a better grasp on the theory and practise of those components. I have borrowed a DATSV3 measurement kit and some speaker from a friend of mine to do so.

So as a first check (the big goal in the long run will be to couple the speaker in a box with an amp, but still a long way to go), I just took the plain speaker (not in any enclosure, but in free air) which is a scanspeak 18W-8542-10, and made an impedance versus frequency measurement with the DATS_V3 (the DATS was calibrated before).
Then I plotted the resulting curve against the curve in the datasheet. There is a mismatch, which I would call "big", but to be honest, I do not have a feeling how well a simple air measurement can be compared to the datasheet. What I can say is that the measurement itself is reproducable and does not vary too much if i hold the speaker in some different orientation, so there should be no big systematic error just because of "wrong" speaker positioning.

You see the two curves below. The resonance frequency is about 10Hz (!) shifted and the measured curve clearly shows a broader resonace (smaller quality factor?). Can someone explain why this could be the case?

Is this something to be expected because of the described measurement setup? If yes, is there something I can/should do to improve the measurement?

Thanks a lot!
Z_capture.PNG

D

D Murphy

Full Audioholic
Hi @all!
I am new to the forum and wanted to ask a question about the impedance curve of a speaker.

I am rather new to the world of audio speakers and currently playing around to get a better grasp on the theory and practise of those components. I have borrowed a DATSV3 measurement kit and some speaker from a friend of mine to do so.