Introduction and possible directions

S

stalag2005

Full Audioholic
Hi all, gotta introduce myself first.

I got into high grade audio when I worked as a broadcast engineer. Playing with studio grade equipment kind of spoiled me. However moving on into the world of chemistry (I have a PhD in the field), I went out and bought myself some initial goodies. As I was advised and heard demonstrated, I went out and got the following for my living room surround sound (first in my experience) system. To start with the base it is a Yamaha RX-v663 receiver. Paired for the front left and right speakers are a pair of rebuilt Sansui speakers with matched replaced tweeters and midrange speakers and a custom on the cheap crossover. These speakers are good, and when you are a grad student on a severely crimped budget they actually sound pretty good. But the speakers actually purchased with the Yamaha receiver, are the following and are all Paradigm. Mini Monitors v5, cc-190v5, adp-190v5, and a dsp-3100.

I do have a second system, 2.1 stereo on my computer. This comprises a Sprout 100, a Pinnacle 100 subwoofer, and a pair of Martin Logan LX-16 speakers. This second system has served me well. I am not looking to upgrade this.