no sound from yamaha rx-v673

P

patryk

Audiophyte
today i turned the receiver on and there was no sound. i started playing with it, the only way i can get sound out of it, if its from the input jacks and Only in pure direct mode. if its not in the pure direct mode i get no sound.
i only use 2 optical cables, one for cable box other for tv
and jack input for my laptop
i tried disconnecting all speakers and unit reset.
Please help, thanks

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
today i turned the receiver on and there was no sound. i started playing with it, the only way i can get sound out of it, if its from the input jacks and Only in pure direct mode. if its not in the pure direct mode i get no sound.
i only use 2 optical cables, one for cable box other for tv
and jack input for my laptop
i tried disconnecting all speakers and unit reset.
Please help, thanks
Obviously this unit has a malfunction. The problem areas are either the power to the processing board, or a major failure of the processing board.

That means either service or replacement is required.

That receiver first appeared in April 2012, so is likely five or six years old. So for a receiver in that mid pack price range it is slightly over half way through its useful life.

Now you can get a used one on Amazon for $349.00. Will you get that unit repaired for less than that? It depends.

Independent service shops have disappeared pretty much, so you will have to send it to a Yamaha service center most likely. You will pay shipping both ways.

Now if it happens that it is something like a cheap regulator that supplies the processor board you will come out ahead. If the board needs replacement, I think you will come out behind.

Also you will have to pay them to find the trouble. likely $75 to $100.

So if you sand it and then decide not to fix it due to cost, then you will be $100 or more behind.