SVS vs Emotiva, 4ohm vs 8 ohm, Recevier vs Amp???

Benni777

Benni777

Audioholic
Perhaps the title isn't completely correct as I have much on my mind and am looking for opinions, thoughts, ideas and flat out information.

Okay, to begin I am a semi noob did a ton of car audio back in the day. Currently I own an Emotiva Fusion 8100 and have it setup as a 5.1 with a set of Energy RC micro 5.1's. We've recently built our home with a not so ideal great room which is and will be the media/home theater room as well. Tile throughout the house, 12' Vaulted ceilings 22'x25' (living room, kitchen, dinning open concept room). Now that we've got that out of the way I will begin with questions and concerns:

1) I am obviously wanting to upgrade my setup coming from a small apartment but have some limitation (my wife being one of them). She hate the idea of large speaker and loud noise (but whatever)... Room is not ideal either but I would like to possibly do a 5.2.4 setup or even a 7.1. Problems here are (my mistakes) when we built the house I pre-wired for a 7.1 The actual living area is roughly 22'x11' TV being centered on a 18' wide long wall; front to back is 11'. Side surrounds are wired 8 foot high on the wall and rear surrounds wired in ceiling. ( I KNOW, I KNOW WTF WERE YOU THINKING) Look, honestly before doing the research I thought to myself I could do in wall/ceiling speakers for the surrounds and do towers and subs in the front. No after the fact I'm kicking myself for various reasons but lets face facts, wifey ain't gonna have a true 7.1 in the living room. 5.1 I MIGHT be able to swing but I've already pre-wired high. So I've been thinking 5.2.4 hear me out. Leaving my current wiring as height or atmos and rewire for side surrounds down low. Ehhh maybe IDK. Problem is the living area will never be a true correct room for what I want it to be. So can I get the effect of 7.1 with the speakers high?