Verdinut

Verdinut

Audioholic Spartan
Hello Hobbit,

The reason why I am looking for a second phone service is voice quality and as a backup to my cell phone. I was in BestBuy the other day and saw the Ooma device and it got me thinking. The only thing is I would want to make sure that all of my devices (cable modem, router, Ooma device) were plugged into a battery backup in case of losing power.
I've been using Panasonic cordless phones for over 10 years. I can assure you that their sound quality is excellent, and I think they are still the best on the market at present. You can get some bases for several handsets, mine came with two. They use rechargeable AAA Ni-MH batteries.

As for the Ooma brand, I couldn't tell as I never tried them. I believe this brand has not been selling in the greater Montreal area for a long period of time.

When there is a power outage, they don't operate. I plug the main base into my desk computer's APC Back-UPS.

Last edited:
cornemuse

cornemuse

Junior Audioholic
I use land line 99% of the time. I do not get/make very many calls. I have a cell phone I used a lot for work, but since I retired, I take it when I leave the house, in case I want or need to make a call. otherwise it is off 99.9% of the time. I turn the battery over, it is OFF!

Out-Of-Phase

Out-Of-Phase

Audioholic General
cornermuse, for your landline, do you use a traditional phone company like CenturyLink or Frontier?

Out-Of-Phase

Out-Of-Phase

Audioholic General
"If you’re looking for a good old-fashioned landline–complete with a dial tone and all–you’ll be hard-pressed to find one these days. Plain old telephone service (POTS) is quickly becoming obsolete. In fact, AT&T has decided to eliminate landlines altogether, switching all of their customers to internet phone service."