Mid-woofer cone material

K

Kosta

Junior Audioholic
I am about to order some custom speakers and a subwoofer from a local speaker builder and choosing the material of the cones is driving me mad...
These speakers are intended for a home theater system which will be for both music and movies so I want the 3.1 part of the system to be high quality for music (including a matching center channel) and the surround system to be cheap.

The stereo setup (for music) will include 2 way speakers with two 6" midwoofer cones each (for the extra DBs) and one silk dome tweeter. When it comes to the cone material, I am trying to choose between some excellent for their price coated paper cones (35 euros per cone), some also really good plastic cones which are a bit more expensive because their build quality is better and finally some really expensive (around 200 euros per cone) ceramic coated cones. The problem is that I have very little experience when it comes to hifi listening so I don't know what to look for when listening to different cones and which one is right for me. My biggest fear is that if I cheap out I will regret it later because I will be missing a lot of detail in music but I also don't want to become the entusiast type who is spending loads of cash for that 1% improvement.

I have already listened to the paper coated cones and I will l listen to a new system with the plastic cones in a couple of days so I would like some guidance about what I should be looking for when I listen to each cone and what are the traits of each (including the ceramic cone). Unfortunately he does not have any system with the ceramic cone so I can't listen to it before placing my order.

Finally, the speaker maker I am talking about is experienced with an excellent reputation and in depth knowledge so am I stressing too much about the cone material or will it not make such a big difference if the one making the speakers know what they are doing?

Thank you in advanced

Verdinut