R

Reckel

Audioholic Chief
Need advice on purchasing a new avr. I’ve been looking at x4500h but I have no experience with denon. I currently have a Yamaha a860. Would the denon be better than the Yamaha?

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Why are you changing avr? What do you want in the new one that your old one lacks?

R

Reckel

Audioholic Chief
I like the Yamaha for the most part. I’d like to add four in ceiling speakers for atmos but I can only add two on Yamaha and I don’t like that the Yamaha does not independently set sub distances, I have three vtf3 mk5s and one is directly behind my second row. It just sets one distance for all three

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord
The 4500 is a great receiver and the price is right on them lately too.

R

Reckel

Audioholic Chief
I’d like to run 7.2.4, I do have an outlaw five channel amp hooked up and my front three are running off that. I may be able to add the second set of atmos speakers but I haven’t played with it yet to see if it’ll work with the Yamaha

R

Reckel

Audioholic Chief
The 4500 is a great receiver and the price is right on them lately too.
Would you say it’s better than the Yamaha? Again I have no experience with denon so I have no idea if build quality is similar or performance. Also I’ve read that denons run hot

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
Denon Better than Yamaha in terms of what?

Prices? Yes. We see Denon at ~50% off all the same.
Reliability? No.
Warranty Service? Hells no. Yamaha is better.
Operating Temperature? Hells no. Yamaha is significantly cooler.
HDMI Compatibility? No.
WiFi Remote App? Hells no.
WiFi Music streaming ? No.
Sound quality in Direct or Straight mode? No.
Manual EQ? No. Yamaha's Parametric EQ is better.
Down-sampling when using EQ? No. Yamaha does not down-sample at all.
Room Auto EQ (Audyssey vs YPAO)? I think most people would say yes.