Which Speakers are the best?

N

Nooby

Audiophyte
Alright guys, I am completely new to the audio world, I have never owned a surround system before.

So, on the advice from my co-worker who says the Klipsch KSF are the best of the 3, he say's really knows audio equipment, I have come across the following Tall speakers on Craigslist and would like to know which pair are the best!?!

1. Klipsch RF-25- $275
2. Klipsch KSF 10.5- $150
3. Polk audio monitor series 70 II- $200

Thanks!

Seth=L

Seth=L

Audioholic Overlord
Alright guys, I am completely new to the audio world, I have never owned a surround system before.

So, on the advice from my co-worker who says the Klipsch KSF are the best of the 3, he say's really knows audio equipment, I have come across the following Tall speakers on Craigslist and would like to know which pair are the best!?!

1. Klipsch RF-25- $275

Thanks!
Of those the KSF-10.5 present the best value on paper and from what I remember of that series it was pretty well regarded among Klipsch fans. If rock, trance, rap, pop, etc are your bag these would absolutely rock.

The RF-25 price is a tad high in my opinion, the tweeters are a bit better (smoother) but not to such a significant about to sell yourself short on about 10hz extra bass extension.

The Polks claim more extension, but I rather doubt they achieve as much useful output as the would lead you to believe since they don't coincide their frequency response with a deviation figure like the Klipsch do.

I'd put my money on the Klipsch KSF 10.5 as they are very efficient and even loaded, but they are definitely the largest option. If each pair of those speakers were $200 I'd still buy the KSF 10.5s of those three.

Since you're buying off of craigslist make sure you can test these speakers before you hand over the cash. Make sure the woofers don't have any holes and the foam/rubber surrounds are in good condition. Also be sure the tweeters are operating.

I hope this was helpful.