Bookshelf speakers for PC, overwhelmed with the options

B

badaboom423

Audioholic Intern
I'll be getting a cheap Lepai amp to power a pair of bookshelf speakers for my pc. I've been looking around and I've seen a few speakers that all look the same to me, but I'm not an expert at this. I will be sitting about 2 feet away from the speakers, and I won't be getting a subwoofer so I would like some speakers that have good bass. My budget is below $100. I was looking at the Micca MB42 and Micca MB42X, don't know if the $50 extra on the MB42X is worth it, I've read they have a crossover but I have no idea what that does. Any recommendations on other speakers, providing good bass under $100?

slipperybidness

slipperybidness

Audioholic Warlord
Truly good bass under $100 aint gonna happen.

I highly recommend the Mackie CR-3 at an MSRP right at $100. Or, look on Ebay and get them for ~$85 used. If you get these, then you don't need the Lapai, they already have built in amps.
http://www.amazon.com/Mackie-CR-CR3-Reference-Multimedia/dp/B00KVEIY4E/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1444160181&sr=8-2&keywords=mackie+creative

If you save a few bucks on and don't buy the Lapai, then you may consider bumping up to $150 for the CR-4.

If you already own the Lapai and want to consider a little DIY, then check out this kit
http://www.parts-express.com/overnight-sensations-mt-speaker-kit-pair--300-706

Or, consider a pair of these
http://www.parts-express.com/dayton-audio-b652-air-6-1-2-2-way-bookshelf-speaker-with-amt-tweeter-pair--300-651

B

badaboom423

Audioholic Intern
Truly good bass under $100 aint gonna happen.

I highly recommend the Mackie CR-3 at an MSRP right at $100. Or, look on Ebay and get them for ~$85 used. If you get these, then you don't need the Lapai, they already have built in amps.
http://www.amazon.com/Mackie-CR-CR3-Reference-Multimedia/dp/B00KVEIY4E/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1444160181&sr=8-2&keywords=mackie+creative