Votes: 1 14.3%
  • Other

Votes: 1 14.3%

• Total voters
K

Kingsway

Enthusiast
Hello,
I am new to all this speaker stuff and would like to ask for some recommendations. I have just purchased my first condo and I would like purchase a good set of speakers. I enjoy listening to music as well as movies so I am not sure if I should go with a 2.1 set up or a 5.1 set up. I usually like to listen to deep house, chill music but also like to occasional acoustics and vocal music. I will be living in a wood frame building so having the strongest subs and most powerful speakers are not too important to me.

I have set myself a budget around $700 USD for speakers, subs, amps and all in. I will be setting this up in my living room which is also connected with the dining area. I have attached an image of my floor plan to help put things into perspective. Space is fairly limited so as much as I'd like some strong tower speakers that look cool, it may not be the best choice. Please advise!

Thank you!
Kingsley

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
What are your sources? Computer? PS4? Roku? If it were me on that budget, I would go for just a solid couple of bookshelf speakers.

K

Kingsway

Enthusiast
What are your sources? Computer? PS4? Roku? If it were me on that budget, I would go for just a solid couple of bookshelf speakers.
Sources are mainly computer, Apple TV, cable TV. If I get a couple of bookshelf speakers, will I still need to get a sub? Any recommendations in this price range?

Last edited:
S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member