Need Bookshelf speakers recs around $1500 for pair

S

sush15

Audiophyte
Hi,

First I am new to this and learning so please forgive any silly questions/comments. I am considering Focal Chorus 706, Focal profile 908,Cambridge Audio Aero 2 and Ascend Acoustic Sierra 2. I am open to any other ppl may think I should look at as well. I would prefer something that was released more recently as I would think the as technology is newer it wont get outdated too soon? Hoping to have this set for 5-10 years perhaps. I have a fairly average sized NYC apartment living room. My budget is $1500.
Also told to consider looking at KH 120 or Axiom audio m22.

Opinions, feedback or comments much appreciated!
Thanks!

agarwalro

agarwalro

Audioholic Ninja
Focal Chorus 706 and Axiom M22 are in a different price league. So, not fair to have them in the mix of $1500. The internet's general opinion on the Focal Profile 908 doesn't seem very encouraging.

The Neumann KH120 are active and from what I read, including published FR, they should be fantastic. Note that these have an XLR input only. Pair these with a good analog source that has volume control (like the Oppo 103) and you have the makings of a very good minimally processed setup. That said, the room, speaker placement and listening position optimizations will heavily affect the quality of what you hear. Last but not the least, their f3 is 52 Hz. If you like bass, you will need a subwoofer.

If you have a digital source going to a receiver or are planning to do any processing (eq to correct room response and/or bass management for a sub), my pick from your list would be the Ascend Sierra 2. As it happens, you can find a set in the classifieds here, listed well below cost of new.

S

sush15

Audiophyte
Thank you so much for the detail. What is your opinion of Focal Aria 906 or KEF LS50?