Mid-bass subwoofer performance

Houston1906

Houston1906

Audioholic Intern
I have been researching subwoofers for several months and I am finally at the point of making a purchase. For the most part, I am pretty much sold on the SVS PB-1000. One thing I have been seeing quite a bit is that the PB-1000 is a little lacking in the mid-bass range. Is the PB-1000 truly lacking in mid-bass, or would it provide solid performance across the board for movies and music?

I am also coming from an Infinity sub that has performed pretty well for me over the years. I figured the SVS would be a huge step up.

everettT

everettT

Audioholic Spartan
Based on measurements, it fine in the mid bass. How large is your room?

everettT

everettT

Audioholic Spartan
Yes it is. The pb1000 is nice but it's still an entry level sub from svs.

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
If your current sub is the Infinity Primus PS312, than I would not think the PB1000 will do better in mid bass. The PB1000's forte is deep bass for the price, and also its relatively small size. I would guess the VTF3 mk5 fully triples the output of the PB1000 in the mid bass region.

Houston1906

Houston1906

Audioholic Intern
If your current sub is the Infinity Primus PS312, than I would not think the PB1000 will do better in mid bass. The PB1000's forte is deep bass for the price, and also its relatively small size. I would guess the VTF3 mk5 fully triples the output of the PB1000 in the mid bass region.
I'm working with the model prior to the Primus line. It's a decent little sub (8") for what it is, but I am well past time to upgrade. I upgraded everything else first.

everettT

everettT

Audioholic Spartan
I stand by the HSU being the cheapest and most impact capable upgrade.

Houston1906

Houston1906

Audioholic Intern
I stand by the HSU being the cheapest and most impact capable upgrade.