Basic Guide on "How to Login to a Router"

Discussion in 'GENERAL AV Discussions' started by admin, Jun 26, 2013.

  1. admin Audioholics Robot Staff Member

    admin
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    1,615
    • Like Like x 1
  2. jinjuku Moderator

    jinjuku
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,279
    Likes Received:
    1,682
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    I don't know if Netgear still does this super annoying thing: You couldn't hit the LAN side login page out of the box. You had to use their *wizard* or know about a certain URL to bypass the *wizard* (I use that term lightly). The other fix was to simply run a cable from the WAN port on the Netgear to a LAN port on the Netgear and then it would let you into the main/default login screen.
  3. Lordhumungus Audioholic

    Lordhumungus
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    58
    Is the Netgear password actually capitalized? My memory isn't what it used to be, but I'm reasonably certain the default is all lowercase.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. haraldo Audioholic Spartan

    haraldo
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,347
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Seem like Netgear and D-Link goes a long way to make their products much more annoying than any other piece of software.....
    I sometimes gets rejected logins on my D-Link DIR-655 even though I'm 100% sure username and password is correct, I retry, write the exact same thing and voila.....

    Is there an "annoyance level" setting somewhere in the Firmware?

    If you're using linux, these two commands can be useful too:
    - Show the ip adress of your network cards: ip address show
    - Show the ip routing table: route -n

    But probably those who run linux are not within the target audience of this article :p
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2013
  5. BoredSysAdmin Audioholic Overlord

    BoredSysAdmin
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10,179
    Likes Received:
    3,339
    Location:
    New Joisey
  6. haraldo Audioholic Spartan

    haraldo
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,347
    Likes Received:
    1,218
  7. Cliff_is Audioholics Content Manager

    Cliff_is
    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    North Dakota
    My mistake. It's lowercase.

    Fixed.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. jinjuku Moderator

    jinjuku
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,279
    Likes Received:
    1,682
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    To see the routing table in Windows it's: route print. I've put in several NIC cards in a windows machine back in the day (NT) and turned it into a router in an emergency.
  9. Moni Audiophyte

    Moni
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,

    Your explanation was so thorough, thanks, I managed to login to my router. I'd like to add my phone to the trusted devices, but I can't find such a command. All the other devices have been added by someone else and I was only watching, and now I can't remember how they did it.

    Would you please explain me how to do this? Thanks!!

    Moni
    Moni,
  10. MDS Audioholic Spartan

    MDS
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,691
    Likes Received:
    863
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I've always bought Netgear routers and haven't seen that behavior in years. You can use the IP address because you know it is going to be 192.168.0.1 or use routerlogin.net. Over the years they've had other aliases too.
    MDS,

Share This Page

  • RBHsound.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA