Anything Better Than This??

E

EIPtuningR32

Audioholic Intern
I am about to pull the trigger on the Audioengine A5+ speakers and Audioengine D1 DAC. Their primary use will be listening to high quality music (DSD/SACD/24-96/FLAC) files on my computer. My biggest enjoyment is sitting down and immersing myself in the music, listening to all of the details and enjoying the clarity. My question is, are there better options out there for speakers and DACs? I am thinking about saving up and buying a sub later on, so i would like to have really natural bass with the monitors. I am looking to spend ~$500 on speakers,DAC (or whatever device is recommended), and wiring. Any suggestions or am I on the right path to musical heaven?

F

fmw

Audioholic Ninja
I would skip the DAC, assuming your computer has a DAC already on its mainboard or sound card. I would take that money and put it into speakers. I have no experience with the speakers you mention but I don't see much to gain with an external DAC.

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
Many computer's built in audio jacks are awful, so I wouldn't use onboard sound. I would get an audio interface, something like these Behringers will do very nicely and are a lot less expensive than those Audioengines. If you want to get fancier than those barebones Behringers, check out this Lexicon interface. It is still a lot less expensive than that Audioengine interface, and it has more features. That audioengine DAC just isn't a very good value, it is depending on the consumer's ignorance of pro-audio interfaces for any sale.