5.1 rec challenge! for my small room, please. (pics)

G

Gemseeker

Enthusiast
Hi,
As a total newbie to the home theater world I've spent months doing research and listening to what small selection of speakers I could find in local stores. I apologize for the long post but I wanted to be thorough right from the get-go.

So far I have bought:
Samsung LN40B650 TV
Panasonic DMP BD60 Blu-ray player
HP desktop computer, Windows 7, 64bit

-and still new in box (since I have no speakers to test it with to make sure it works, which is causing me a lot of anxiety!)
Denon 1713 receiver -rated 120 watts/channel. Supposed to be a 'warm' receiver.

I have listened to:
Mainstream Best Buy speakers, including Polk, Klipsch, Pioneer, Bose, B&W, Martin Logan, Definite Technology, and Energy.

From the two local home theater stores:
Wharfedale, Paradigm, Boston Acoustics

Before I report my findings I want to give everyone a better idea of my home situation.

My challenges:
#1. Space. My room is 12x14. Pretty small, and made even smaller by the bookcases, bed, bureau and TV stand lining nearly every foot of usable wall space. Plus two windows, a door and pair of sliding closet doors. I posted pictures on Photobucket -I can't post links yet. It's under EloquentQuill My Room-any search engine should find it quite easily.

I would be willing to remove the bureau to a different room and then slide the bookcases a few feet along the wall to make room for speakers. Otherwise, I'm not sure what I could do as to speaker placement, as I intend to get something better-quality than a cheapo HTiB. I want 5.1 and do not mind visible cables.