Ultra HD and Physical Media - A New Optical Format War Brewing?

A

admin

Audioholics Robot
Staff member
Sony and Panasonic have teamed up to create a new optical disc standard. So far the claim is that its for a next-generation standard for professional optical discs. We can't help but wonder if this is the birthing of a new format war to provide a new media to support Ultra-HD. The 300 Gig storage capability of this new format dwarfs the current 25 Gig Blu-ray disc by a 12:1 margin (assuming single layer).

Ultra HD 4k and Physical Media - A new Format War?

Do you think this has commercial implications to eventually lead to the next digital format war?

Last edited by a moderator:
SaviorMachine

SaviorMachine

Enthusiast
There was a format war between blu-ray and HD-DVD, but I'm not familiar with such a war at the introduction of DVD and I feel the same about the introduction of CD (I could be completely wrong about this--I'm not an expert by any means.) Also, both CD and DVD content and players persist in the marketplace to this day. I guess what I mean is that the introduction of higher-capacity optical media hasn't always been a disaster, nor has it proved mandatory, except in the very long term, for consumers.

tmurnin

tmurnin

Full Audioholic
There will never be another physical format war because consumers won't buy another physical media product, regardless of quality. If we can't get streaming speeds to support 4k, then 4k won't make it as a platform. Blu-Ray is an endangered species as it is now.

gracilism

gracilism

Audiophyte
I'll take a war.

War in business terms means competition. Competition is a wonderful market pressure to help drive down prices. Now, I won't jump on the bandwagon until a victor is assured, but half the audio/ video-philes may get tuck with a dead technology.