Yet another noob Help thread...

L

Louis

Enthusiast
Onkyo 608 or Yamaha HTR-5960

Hey guys,
I know there's probably 20 of these threads every day but I guess everyone has different budgets and options so as much as I've searched I haven't been able to get a straight answer between my choices...especially since I'm a newb to all this
I am looking to upgrade my system, which is a small cheap "home theater in a box" type system from Sony. This is for my apartment living room which is about 11x17 so it's obviously not a very big place but I would like somehting that'll work in a bigger room for when/if I move. I know I won't be able to get everything at once so i am starting first with a receiver. After reading and researching on this site and forums I have narrowed things down to the Yamaha HTR-5960/V659 and the Onkyo 604. I can't go all crazy so i am setting a limit on @ 500 bucks for the receiver and these 2 seem to be among the most popular ones. I am leaning towards the Yammy due to the great review on this site, even if its a bit more expensive than the Onkyo. I currently do not have any HDMI equipment but will be getting in the near future a Panasonic 42 in. plasma so i figure if i get any HDMI equipment I can always run the video straight to the TV.
My questions are:
1) which one should I go for..I see the strong points for both but should i go for : a)Yammy b) onkyo c) Get a refurb upscale model of either brand (i'm kinda of weary about refurbs though)
Ive listened to both but in different places so i couldn't really do a same site comparison, but for the most part they both sounded pretty decent...again I'm not an expert.
2) Is there another receiver in the range which may actually be better off than both of those? I know there's quite a few under 500 but these 2 seem to be popping up the most and I am not familiar with the Denon or Pioneer "best bets" for under 500 so haven't really looked into those brands.