Yet another 805 V 806 thread

T

Toby

Enthusiast
Sorry but im a noob. and everything ive searched and seen seems to have different needs than me

I can get a 806 or a silver 805 for the same price new and am wondering about which to get.

I have a PS3 and DirecTV HD DVR hooked up to a XBR via HDMI.

I have no need for up or downscaling.

I currently have only 2 fronts and a center speakers from Aperion.

I hate the fact that the 806 doesnt pass through my 1080p signal unmolested and dont like what im hearing about the 805 not doing the latest codecs.

Please help

Thanks in advance

speakerman39

speakerman39

Audioholic Overlord
Sorry but im a noob. and everything ive searched and seen seems to have different needs than me

I can get a 806 or a silver 805 for the same price new and am wondering about which to get.

I have a PS3 and DirecTV HD DVR hooked up to a XBR via HDMI.

I have no need for up or downscaling.

I currently have only 2 fronts and a center speakers from Aperion.

I hate the fact that the 806 doesnt pass through my 1080p signal unmolested and dont like what im hearing about the 805 not doing the latest codecs.

Please help

Thanks in advance
Toby, the 805 has a larger power supply which means it can deliver more power when needed dynamically than the 806. This is why the 806 weighs significantly less than the 805 respectively speaking. You have the PS3 which will process the new codecs and send it via LPCM via the multichannel inputs to your receiver. Therefore, the 805 not processing the new codecs is irrelevant. Based upon your gear, I would opt for the 805 w/o hesitation, especially, if it is really brand new. Where did you find a brand new 805 if you don't mind me asking? Just curious is all. ;);)

Cheers,

Phil

T

Toby

Enthusiast
Wow. Leave it to a UK fan to give me the answer I need.

Our Italian coaches moms Lasagna is better than your Italian coaches moms

Go Cards!