Yamaha rx-v1500 or Pioneer VSX 1014?

H

Homer Jay

Audiophyte
I'm new to your wonderful forum and wanted to give a big HELLO to everyone!

I currently own a Yamaha rx-v995 and have decided it is time to upgrade. I was leaning towards the rx-v1500, but then when I started researching it I came across the Pioneer VSX 1014. The both seem to be great receivers so now I'm a little confused on which one to get. By what I'm reading the Pioneer seems to be better with 2 chanel music and the Yamaha seems to have a ton more advanced features. I'm not too good a using the advanced features, but I'm sure I can learn them. I'm really just looking for the best bang for the buck.

Which one should I go for?

Any other suggestions for A/V receivers in the same price range?

TIA :)

dm_4u

dm_4u

Junior Audioholic
If you watch more movies than listen to tunes...grab the Yammie...you are used to the DSP modes and will be disappointed with anything less.

E

Electone

Audioholic
I seriously doubt you will hear much difference between the 995 and the 1500. Why do you want to upgrade? Is it for EX/ES capability? If you are just listening to 5.1, I wouldn't waste the money. The 995 is a very capable unit.

H

Homer Jay

Audiophyte
Electone said:
I seriously doubt you will hear much difference between the 995 and the 1500. Why do you want to upgrade? Is it for EX/ES capability? If you are just listening to 5.1, I wouldn't waste the money. The 995 is a very capable unit.
Well I have a HD televsion and cable box, but the 995 doesn't have any component video inputs/outputs. Is it worth upgrading mainly for this?

TIA

E

Electone

Audioholic
Homer Jay said:
Well I have a HD televsion and cable box, but the 995 doesn't have any component video inputs/outputs. Is it worth upgrading mainly for this?

TIA
Run the DVD and cable box component inputs directly to the TV and have the TV switch between inputs.

H

Homer Jay

Audiophyte
Electone said: