Yamaha 5750 volume/loudness???

J

jman103099

Audioholic Intern
Okay, I know that a base Yamaha is lower than most of you guys go, but I had a quick question about this receiver.

I got a HTR-5750 for Christmas because as a poor college student I didnt think I needed to spend any more money - and from working at Best Buy for 3 years in high school, I knew Yamaha was the way to go. Anyways, the problem that im having is it seems you really have to turn this thing up to get sound to come out. When im watching a DVD movie its at about -15 or -10 and when listening to a CD (throught the DVD player) its at -20 or so. However, when listening to the tuner through it, you can leave it lower at -30 or -25 and have about what seems as the same volume out of it. It just seems to me I shouldnt have to turn this thing up 3/4s of the way to get this kind of volume out of it, and its still not as loud as a cheap JVC i used to have!!! PLEASE ANY IDEAS?

I know everything is hooked up right (haha, Best Buy people can be stupid, but I wasnt one of them). Im running all JBL speakers, (fronts, rears, center and sub) and all monster or better wires (bought all that before i left best buy and its really paid off). Like I said, my old JVC (which wasnt even digital) could reach volumes MUCH higher.

So is this just a Yamaha thing? Better sound quality and crispness for a sacrifice in volume output?

THANKS SO MUCH FOR YOUR HELP!

-Justin
jman@bmwe30.net

M

MDS

Audioholic Spartan
There are multiple current threads in this forum with the same question (and this question comes up alot anyway).