C

Colin2929

Audiophyte
Hi all I'm new to this so thanks for having me.
I currently use Andrew Jones SP BS22 bookshelf speakers paired with an Onkyo A9010 amp. I've got a Rega Planar 1 and only use this set up for records. I've recently seen some B&W DM601 S2 speakers for sale at a good price. Would changing to these make a marked improvement on my sound. I only ask because although the Pioneer speakers are highly regarded they just don't do it for me. I'm hoping I'll hear a massive improvement on sound if I plump for the B&W's. Can anyone give me some advice please? Thanks

TheWarrior

TheWarrior

Audioholic Ninja
The advice should be to go out and listen to as much as you can!

The B&W has the woofer crossed over at 4khz, which does not bode well for off axis mid range sound. I would pass on this speaker.

Can you identify the qualities of the BS22 you find lacking? Or you just want a better speaker?

C

Colin2929

Audiophyte
Thanks for your response. The BS22 feels too bass heavy for my ear and lacks the clarity I've heard in other speakers, say, Q Acoustics 3020. I only asked because I saw the B&W's at a really good price and they are generally reviewed quite well. Just curious on upgrading on a budget.

TheWarrior

TheWarrior

Audioholic Ninja
If you thought the BS22 was bass heavy, then tell more about the room they are set up in, what they are placed on, and the distance to you, and distance to the wall behind. The room is really in control of bass, so how and where you set your speakers up is of huge importance.

As for clarity, no doubt the BS22 is a solid, entry level speaker. That's why I suggest trying to visit HiFi shops in your area - the bass may differ because of the room, but if you focus on the mid and treble range you might narrow down what kind of sound you are looking for... or even a really great bargain!