What should I upgrade next?

tjoseph2000

tjoseph2000

Audiophyte
Hi All,

I'm a longtime lurker, and first time poster. I am a home theater novice, and have been slowly building my system for about 10 years with an upgrade every year or two. I spent quite a bit last year on the AVR and subs, and am now at the point where I am not sure what to upgrade next. My budget is $1500. I have the following set up in a 5.2.4 system, and would love recommendations on what you would do to improve:

- Marantz SR6014 AVR
- Anthem MCA 525 Amp (225 wpc x 5 channels) - connected to the front 3 and 2 rear surrounds
- Four B&W 684 S2 tower speakers used as fronts and rear surround, four B&W CCM663 ceiling speakers, and a B&W CC6 S2 center channel
- Two SVS SB-2000 Pro subs
- Samsung LG C9 OLED television

It's all patched together with various Blue Jeans cables and plugged into a panamax line conditioner / surge protector. My theater room is roughly 20 ft x 12 ft with 9 ft ceilings. The current system sounds amazing with action films, and rock and roll music. Baby Driver is an especially fun show to watch. The only nit I have is that it is admittedly bass heavy, and the center channel does not always do a great job with dialogue (it can be muddy or indiscernible at times -- I literally had to watch Fury Road with the subtitles on). It gets plenty loud for me.

I've been thinking of upgrading the fronts and center, but am concerned with the timbre match to the rest of the system. I might be overthinking that. I fear my speakers are the current weak link, but to do it justice I think I am going to have to spend more than I can afford. Thanks for any guidance you can offer.

TJ

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Seems to be a fairly complete setup and for the money doubt you'd be but making a lateral move on front speakers. Sometimes its more a mix issue with dialog, been a while but think Fury Road was one of those. Maybe buy some more content to watch/listen to?