What brand manufacturers make the best av home theater receiver.

M

mlichtenfield

Enthusiast
With a $5000 budget, what would be the best AVR for a home theater. 11.2 system, speakers are Revel Performa 3 with 2 sub amp. What would you chose?

H

Hetfield

Audioholic Samurai
Most will say I think Anthem with a budget that high. I am poor so I have no experience with them but they are supposed to be great and among the best.

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord
I like Denon or Marantz myself. The 6013, 7013 and 8013 units are very nice. So are the 6400 through 8400 series from Denon. It really just boils down to what feature sets you want the most. As far as sound quality you'll find they will all sound more alike than different until you get into the different room correction and DSP modes, which is why I prefer Denon and Marantz with Audyssey XT32-SubEQ.

Last edited:
S

snakeeyes

Audioholic Ninja
Maybe would vote to keep your practically new 6400 and try the Be version Revel bookshelf. :)

Not sure there’s a clear winner vs Denon/Marantz and Yamaha. I like Yamaha but these all are similar in features and should sound basically the same. Maybe wait for hdmi 2.1 and 8k content in 5 to 10 years. :)

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord
Maybe would vote to keep your practically new 6400 and try the Be version Revel bookshelf. :)

Not sure there’s a clear winner vs Denon/Marantz and Yamaha. I like Yamaha but these all are similar in features and should sound basically the same. Maybe wait for hdmi 2.1 and 8k content in 5 to 10 years. :)