Unfamiliar speaker wire

M

myles99

Audiophyte
I moved to a home that was built in 1999 and has speaker wire pre-wired. The wires are labeled and match rooms where there are existing speakers.

I don't understand the type of receiver necessary to use it though. I've asked several friends and they don't understand it either. I tried searching images on google for a match too and couldn't find it.

Any idea of the type of receiver I need to use this existing wiring?

Thank you for considering. I'm new to this.

speaker wire.jpg

WaynePflughaupt

WaynePflughaupt

Audioholic Samurai
I assume you are asking about the black connectors, not the wire specifically. They appear to be Phoenix connectors, often found on multichannel amplifiers used for whole-house audio. You can simply disconnect the wire from the connector via the set screws, and then connect the wires to your new amplifier.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Warlord
@WaynePflughaupt is correct.

I'm not sure what you have wired in all of the rooms, but it appears that you have both speaker wiring as well as cat-5e network cabling.

It is good that they are labeled for the room that they go to. Many homes do NOT have that convenience of knowing where all the wiring goes and you are stuck figuring it out on your own.

It would be good to know exactly how each room is wired. If there are stereo speakers in each room, or a single speaker in some room, or what.