Total Newb, Looking for Home Theater Help

S

SkeptiKal

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>I currently have a 51&quot; Sony HDTV with a Panasonic DVD player that uses component cables.  The picture is great but the audio is lacking.  I have my TV and DVD player hooked up to a 4 speaker Stereo system that I use.

I have about 1000$ (not much to work with I know) CDN to spend and wanted to get the best possible audio that I can.  My criteria are 5.1 (digital, using optical cable) with a subwoofer or better and not over the stated limit.  I have heard that packaged deals that offer a reciever/speakers/player are not a good way to go so I kinda steered away from that.  

This doesn't have to be a Cinnaplex Odion audio system but just something that will be enjoyable to listen to in my basement.  The primary use for the system will be to watch movie and occasionally listen to music (hardly but still).

Thanks.</font>

ThA tRiXtA

ThA tRiXtA

Full Audioholic
<font color='#000000'>mmmm, a 1000 dollars will be a challenge, but anything is doable. but just to be sure, lets lay out everything you already have:

TV
4 Speakers
Component video cable
DVD player

You want / need to purchase:

Dolby Digital 5.1 Receiver
Optical cable
Subwoofer
(*If your going to purchase a sub, you need a sub cable)

A good *cheaper* upgrade you can do for yourself as well is upgrade your speaker wire to a better brand, 12 to 14 guage preferred.

When I mention cheaper, it won't be rock bottom priced, but not dear...

Let us know if this is what you need as listed above...

PS: What format of music do you listen to? Do you have the player for that? For example CD player?</font>

Rip Van Woofer

Rip Van Woofer

Audioholic General