Total Newb ? about speaker stands

Spiffyfast

Spiffyfast

Audioholic General
So I have a set of bookshelves that have been in a garage and hardly ever used. Finally looked up what I had bought and they are some pretty decent Yamaha Book shelves NS-A738, 3 way speaker 8" woofer, 4" midrange, and 3/4" tweeter. So I'm thinking of using these for rears in a surround setup and they are too big to be wall mounted, so I need to get stands. How does this work, to they just sit on the metal spikes on the stand? Is there a way to mount them to a stand so they are less likely to get knocked off? I've never used a speaker stand so I just dont know how they work. Is there any speceil features I should look for when buying one, I've noticed metal and wood, some are sand fillable?

Takeereasy

Takeereasy

Audioholic General
Cable management is also something to look for as several brands of stand allow you to run the speaker wire through a hollow tube in the center or outside of the stand eliminating it from view. If a stand is sand/shot fillable it is a nice feature to have as well because it adds a lower center of gravity making it hard to knock over those speakers at the frat parties you're going to be inviting me to ;) . Whether or not the stands need spikes depends on the flooring. Carpet flooring = spikes are ok. Hardwood or tile/concrete etc means having removable spikes or else "coasters" to put under the spikes would save you some scratches. Those spikes can be sharp, I know mine are. But mine came with some metal coaster to place the spikes on. You also need to watch the hight of the stands. You want them to be at a hight where they position the tweeter at ear level or a little above.

Also are you sure those speakers are too big to be wall mounted. I'm mounting some fair sized bookshelfs myself right now. What are thier measurements. B-Tech makes some awful nice heavy duty mounts that can support some hefty speakers.

jaxvon

jaxvon

Audioholic Ninja