SVS prime satellite vs....?

S

Segismundo Lopez

Audiophyte
Hi everybody,

Im new to all this audio thing and I want to buy my first decent pair of speakers for my bedroom to listen to music but heres the catch...I have a really tight budget. From all that Ive been reading Im almost decided on the SVS prime satellites because of all the good reviews, but recently I watched a video of a guy bashing the Prime Series saying they are harsh, sibilant blah blah blah and that there are better speakers out there for the money (some viewers agreed with this in the comments) so now Im considering other options. One benefit I see on the SVS is that I can buy one speaker now and the other in a few weeks for example so its more pocket friendly. My question is, which are those better speakers for the same price?

Thank you in advance

Ps: Im planning on getting a little sub too.

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
They do require a sub to make for a full range sound.

Finding speakers that are sold singly is a rarity and if you can get past that, here's some suggestions. ...but they are only sold in pairs I believe.

You might also want to consider, in descending price order, Wharfedale Diamond 220, Elac B5 (or 5), or the Philharmonic Affordable Audio Monitor

Since you're going by what you read and other (unknown) peoples opinions, there are many reviews of these on the interweb.

Last edited:
lsiberian

lsiberian

Audioholic Overlord
You could always send them back if you don't like them. I think you'll probably love them to the average person they are ridiculously good speakers.

S

Segismundo Lopez

Audiophyte
Thank you all.
Just today I found the HSU HB-1 MK-2 at $139 each. Im reading they are great. how they compare to the other options you gave and the SVSs?

I would get AA monitors for budget system: http://philharmonicaudio.com/aa.html

What is your budge for sub? And do you already have amp/receiver?