SVS PB13-ULTRA and Rythmik FV15HP

B

Bone-Head

Junior Audioholic
Is there anybody out there that has actually had or heard both of these speakers? I want to know what difference there is from the obvious $450 price between the two. What selling point is there for me to choose the more expensive SVS? Does one hit harder than the other? I don’t mind spending the extra cash if I can hear & feel the difference. I'm kinda bouncing around between the ULTRA's and the Rythmik.

Sorry for probably beating a dead horse with this post, but I am new to this:)

kramskoi

kramskoi

Enthusiast
Is there anybody out there that has actually had or heard both of these speakers? I want to know what difference there is from the obvious $450 price between the two. What selling point is there for me to choose the more expensive SVS? Does one hit harder than the other? I don’t mind spending the extra cash if I can hear & feel the difference. I'm kinda bouncing around between the ULTRA's and the Rythmik.

The key difference is distortion my friend. The SVS won't play as low as the FV15HP in 12Hz tune but it will be much cleaner from 16 - 30 Hz, and about 1 dB louder at 20Hz, but that is pretty much a rub. The problem as I see it with the FV15HP is that it sacrifices what you can hear for what you can't and looking at distortion vs output, I think it is a shaky compromise. 2nd order distortion is quite high by comparison to the SVS Ultra between 20 and 30 Hz. At low levels the difference won't be so noticeable but if both of these subs were A-B'd at spirited levels, the difference might become apparent in that 20 - 30Hz audible range.