surround sound speakers

S

scobro

Enthusiast
I am fairly new to home theatre and have been doing a lot of research the past few months.I am putting together the home theatre in my living room which is in a town house and is a medium size room with an open concept to the kitchen instead of a seperate door to enclose the living room.I am going to buy the components all seperatly(budget) and hope to have everything by MAY/05. I want to start with the subwoofer and speakers my budget is $1500.00 for these two items.I have noticed the home theatre in a box items but find the subwoofer usually is lacking and the prices are fairly cheap so i assume you pay for what you get.I was thinking about the HSU VTF-2 or STF-2 subwoofer and the HSU Ventriloquist six channel satellite speaker system as i would like a 6.1 system.What are other good companies for speakers and subs? and are satellite speakers the way to go or is tower and bookshelf speakers superior?also is it recommended to have the speaker and subwoofer made by the same company or can you mix and match with no real problems in sound?.Thanks for any guidance you can give me as the sound of my system is top priority with me.

L

Leprkon

Audioholic General
Velodyne is another source for good quality subs. Some of their lower lines are not too great, but Circuit City has started carrying their mid-lines ($ 350 and up), so you can go hear them in person. You might also look at the Outlaw subs at www.outlaw.com (about $ 550 ish)

You can mix a sub with other manufacturers very well. Decent subs will have a variable cross-over that you can set to start picking up the base right at the point where your mains leave off. That lets you can mix the sub into almost any system. You might have to move the sub around a bit to get the best possible sound. (see this article- http://www.audioholics.com/techtips/setup/loudspeakers/subwooferplacementguide.php )