Suggestions needed for first system

O

oscar6036

Audioholic Intern
Well, where to start. I'm a college student who's recently had to take up a full time job to cover expenses. With this fulltime job I've actually been able to free up some money and I really, intensely want to build a decent system. A former roommate had a home theater in a box system and being surrounded by the sound blew me away.

I used to be a car audiophile.. 9 years ago so I knew a little about what sounded decent in that respect, the knowledge has long since gone. At anyrate, roommate moved out and I had to have something of my own. I did some research and picked up a Sony STRDE997B as my receiver. It was fairly inexpensive and seemed to have a lot of options and overall good bang for the buck. They're paired up with some old JBL towers that have long since blown under the strain of 110w a channel.

Back to the point of the matter. I would like help on what speakers I should go for. My budget is roughly $1200. I have a TV and I'll have a DVD/SACD player soon enough, so I'm only curious on the speaker front. Tommorrow I go to the big city (Dallas) to actually listen to some speakers, but I was wondering what I should get for that price. I do want a full 7.1 system, even though I realize that I might be stretching it with that. As for the 7.1, I don't watch a whole lot of movies as a direct result of the college and work thing, but when I do I like to enjoy them. I say this because I do do a lot of music listening. This would mean I'd have to have probably a set of towers so that I could listen in stereo format. Currently I had planned on a set of Infinity Primus 360's, 4 Primus 160's, an Infinity PS12, and a Primus C25 for my center. I'm pretty much just leaning this way because I had always liked Infinity and they're voice matched and fall within my budget. If I'm doing wrong here I would love some feedback. Thanks guys.

O

oscar6036

Audioholic Intern