Subwoofers not working - I know it's been asked a 1,000 times

Seminole Nation

Seminole Nation

Audiophyte
Folks...I'm a total newbie. I have read and read...but still no luck.

Just bought a home with a theatre room equipped with a Yamaha receiver, 7 small speakers and two subwoofers. I have all the "small" speakers working (3 front, 2 side surround, and 2 back surround).

The receiver is a Yamaha RX-V483 and the subwoofers (two of them) are Polk Audio PSW 108.

The subs are wired with the same wires (1 red 1 black) that the other smaller speakers are wired with and those ends are merely connected to the spring connectors on the back (not connected with RCA wires/plugs). I have the two subwoofers terminating at and connecting to RCA connectors at the receiver end and those connectors are plugged into a RCA "Y" with a single input connector to the "Pre Out Subwoofer" jack on the receiver. I "learned" (online) that it's ok to slice in an RCA connector to the red/black speaker wires. I am wondering if that is true and if that might well be my problem.

I can't get any sounds out of the subs (other than a low pitch hum when the volume is max'd). I have tested them by plugging them into various other speaker jacks on the receiver and they seem to work just fine...so, I am pretty confident that the speakers are good and not damaged.

Help?

K

kini

Full Audioholic
Folks...I'm a total newbie. I have read and read...but still no luck.

Just bought a home with a theatre room equipped with a Yamaha receiver, 7 small speakers and two subwoofers. I have all the "small" speakers working (3 front, 2 side surround, and 2 back surround).

The receiver is a Yamaha RX-V483 and the subwoofers (two of them) are Polk Audio PSW 108.