Subwoofer shaking TV picture

Kyle Lorenz

Kyle Lorenz

Junior Audioholic
My subwoofer shakes my TV picture a little. I don't mind it shaking but I'm worried that it will harm the TV. Could my subwoofer skaking the TV picture wreck it overtime? Thanks.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
It sounds like your sub is too close to your TV. Is this a CRT TV?

Kyle Lorenz

Kyle Lorenz

Junior Audioholic
What's a CRT TV? I'm a little new to this. I can tell you that I have a Sony Wega Trinitron.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
CRT = tube, and that would be one. So is the sub pretty close to the TV? Is it a powerful/large sub? If the sub is close enough that the stray field affects the image on the screen, it would seem to me that it will eventually cause damage. Are they both plugged into a surge supressor? If the sub isn't close, maybe it could also be a voltage issue?

Kyle Lorenz

Kyle Lorenz

Junior Audioholic
The sub is 250 watts 10 inch and they are both pluged into a surge powerbar. The sub is right beside the TV so I guess I got nothing else to do but move it. Thanks for the advice.

EDIT: I just got an idea. I have a 300 watt home subwoofer on the other side of the TV that doesn't shake the picture. The other sub I'm talkin about is a homemade box. So, I got to thinking. The 300 watt sub has cotton insulation inside and the homemade one doesn't. Does the insulation stop the viberation?

Last edited:
j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
The other sub may have what is known as a bucking magnet that will help reduce the magnetic field coming from the sub, essentially like shielding. If you move the sub away from the TV and the problem stops, you know it is the sub. The polyfil shouldn't make any difference. Are you saying it physically shakes the TV or that the image on the TV shakes?

Kyle Lorenz

Kyle Lorenz

Junior Audioholic
The image of the TV shakes. I wish I had a sub that could move the entire TV haha:p

T

t3031999

Audioholic