Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Tom Steele

Ok,

This will stir up the pot I'm sure, but I don't understand it at all. Maybe someone here can change my mind.

First, let me tell you my background. I have an engineering degree with a math minor. But I haven't used it and I've forgotten so much that it is embarrassing. On the other hand, I still have enough basic knowledge and understanding of the concepts that I can usually do a little research and re-learn or catch up on things that I am rusty with these days when I need. In other words, I understand the basic concepts of electronic circuitry and electricity.

I ended up going into (radio) broadcasting my senior year of college and never did anything in the engineering field.

However, this career has involved me with some quite expensive professional sound equipment over the years. That has changed somewhat recently, as computers and (data) compression have become big parts of radio. Still, we have some nice processing equipment in the broadcast chain and we use decent speakers in our studios, etc... I have a little hands on experience with high-end stuff.

So... Here is my perspective. I believe that MOST, if not ALL, high end cables are a scam. PARTICULARLY for subwoofers.

Let me zip my flame-suit on (someone needs to make a cool smiley for that).

Here's why:

1. For subs, you are running RCA to the amp. This involves very little current or voltage and the average RCA connector wire will handle this load easily. I'd MAYBE recommend going to Radio Shack and making sure you were getting a good quality (copper wire, gold plated ends) wire, but I wouldn't spend any serious money on it.

BTW, the reason I bring this up at all, is another thread ("subs under $600" I think) where someone was going to sacrifice the quality of his sub because the price of a sub that he wanted wouldn't leave any money left over for the cable.