Subwoofer and music

K

korg1960

Audiophyte
newbie here and maybe I should be posting this in another forum. I have heard from a few people (not here) that real audiophiles don't use a subwoofer when listen to music. I use mine for both TV and music at this time, but I was wondering how others felt about just using the subwoofer for watching movies and such only.

XEagleDriver

XEagleDriver

Audioholic Chief
Complex question with only ONE right answer . . . it depends.

First off, not sure what a "real audiophile" is anyways, but the image in my mind is not a good one, LOL.

The variables include:
- Type of main speakers (e.g. bookshelf or tower)
- Low end capability of main speakers (some tower speakers suck at reproducing low freqs)
- Capability and demand placed on AVR/amplifier
- Room acoustics (e.g. are locations of main speakers coincident with location for good bass)
- Room treatments

Most importantly, what sounds best and is affordable to you.
Sincerely capable full range towers are generally very pricey.

Truth in lending, I stem from the Subs Rock, Wouldn't Live Without Them tribe.
XEagleDriver

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

ryanosaur

ryanosaur

Audioholic Overlord
It's a silly can of worms.
(That's me being nice.)

If you buy decent quality Subwoofers and take time to set up all your gear properly, there is no reason whatsoever that they will not add to the experience.
It is also well worth noting that the FR Piano and Pipe organ BOTH go well beyond the extension of most Towers.

Mind, I'm not even looking at Manufactured Music as an example, but there are many instances in Electronic music where low-frequency and infrasonic content are present.

So, the short answer is that it's just Audiophile Dogma. Somebody else's opinion. Nothing more.If you buy into that claim, then you are almost assuredly going to start buying $1000 cables, and Risers, and plugs for your open RCA and HDMI ports... :rolleyes:

:D

Verdinut

Verdinut

Audioholic Spartan