Student needs advice about H/K 230

H

hipchack

Enthusiast
Hey all,
I'm a student that is about to start building my HT, and I've been reading up on this forum. I have a limited budget (sub $400) and am looking for a receiver to power, so far, 2 Athena AS-F2 Floor speakers. If anything sound is my main issue and not so much the bells and whistles. I like my stuff to sound neutral to dark ("warm"?), b/c of my classical music background. My main concern is how will the H/K 230 sound driving the speakers? Will it seem dull or be "underdriven?"

Right now I have an old STR-D990 Sony receiver given to me from my old man. Another receiver I'm considering is the Onkyo tx-sr601. However, since music is the main concern for me, I'm also thinking of a 2 channel receiver to drive my speakers and chunking the HT thing until I am more settled :D . THose are a lot of considerations, but, first, some of y'alls opinions. I appreciate any help given. Thanks,

David

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
As long as you have sufficient power, the speakers will be at least 99% responible for determining the overall sound of the system. IOW, if you don't like the sound of the Athena's now, don't expect an amp to change your mind. Conversley, if you do like the sound of 'em, don't expect an epiphany with a new amp. More power may help a little, but it won't change the overall sound.

H

hipchack

Enthusiast
Thanks for the reply. So at 50wpc channel with the h/k 230 it would seem like the athenas would be fairly underdriven as compared to the onkyo system? I have always understood that with Floorstanders the more power the better, and with the Athenas max output at 250W it would seem that 50W wouldn't cut it.

H

hipchack

Enthusiast