Status
Not open for further replies.
M

moconnellus

Audiophyte
I'm new at this and was thinking about building sphere speakers. Is a sphere truly the best shape for sound reproduction?

annunaki

annunaki

Not neccessarily. It is good, but it would be tough to quantify 'the best'. One of the best, along with the sphere would be the snailshell ( See Here )and tapered tube/sphere. Some speakers do not require an enclosure at all, like electrostatics. They can sound very nice.

One of the best, along with the sphere would be the snailshell
Well, at least that's what B&W's marketing would like you to believe. :)

It might be interesting to note that in general, only the people making and patenting spherical loudspeakers make the claim that this is the best shape...

WmAx

WmAx

Audioholic Samurai
moconnellus said:
I'm new at this and was thinking about building sphere speakers. Is a sphere truly the best shape for sound reproduction?
It is 'best' only in narrowly defined terms. It is 'best' as far in as baffle step diffraction transition is concerned which results in smoother frequency response and polar response.

In case of using a speherical enclosure, you would need to take special care of the internal cavity resonance -- it will be at a single frequency at a large magnitude. Dense stuffing and/or internal cavity dividers will be required for optimal behaviour. The best shape would be a spherical half for the front and a tapered tube for rear(spreads the resonant modes across a wide spectrum that can more easily be dampened with fill materials) section. Refer to the B&W midrange modules on the 802, 801, 800 Nautilus series or to DIYer Kingdaddy's midrange modules:

http://kingdaddy.linaeum.com/Mains (SST-8)/DSC02829.JPG

http://kingdaddy.linaeum.com/

-Chris

WmAx

WmAx

Audioholic Samurai
Clint DeBoer said:
It might be interesting to note that in general, only the people making and patenting spherical loudspeakers make the claim that this is the best shape...