Speaker set up, amps, Receivers, and more.

T

The bass cave

Audiophyte
Calling all audiophiles,

Firstly i would like to say that i am a college student on a budget, so please remember that when suggesting things to purchase.

Ok so about 6 years ago i purchased an Onkyo sound system, it is a 5.1 with 660 watts i can pull up the model but i don't think it's important. I also have a polk PSW10 sub which is nice that i replaced the sub that came with the Onkyo system. This has been nice for the past 6 years but i need more of a mid punch and a cleaner bass. I mean i love my Polk audio but i feel like i need either more power or something slightly smaller because it's not very crisp. For example it is great for drum and bass and anything with smooth bass lines, but the second it becomes like techno or anything punchy, it sounds almost like it has a delay in it and it doesn't punch that hard.

Anyways I wanted to purchase new speakers and found some Klipsch KG5.5 second hand and all of the reviews were super positive so i thought about buying an amp for them with volume controls and then buying a split aux jack and wiring it to my sound system and my two klipsch speakers.

But then i started thinking, would it be better to buy an amp and a mixer and just amp all of the channels from the mixer? I don't know a lot about mixers but i know that they pretty much just like manage a channels volume and EQ and sometimes other things depending on the mixer. But I also know that they are like mainly used for recording? So im pretty confused but i know there is a way to like hook up all of my speakers, or at least i hope there is!

If anyone could please just give me some guidance in the right direction that would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Ian

T

The bass cave

Audiophyte