Sony 2023 ES Receiver lineup

Txzick

Txzick

Enthusiast
Many people here on AH who have been in this hobby for 30+ YR will disagree with you. :D
Good for them, they're either deaf or their room accustics and/or equipment sucks
I've been in this hobby for 50 yrs, owned more A/V electronics than I can count, both mid-fi to high end.
Half my professional life I was an Electronics Field Service Engineer (30 yrs)
Thanks to some for participating and adding nothing to the subject

Last edited:
Txzick

Txzick

Enthusiast
Oh... so one amplifier does sound different than anothers.
Thx for mnaking my point

Try harder to improve your reading comprehension

T

Trebdp83

Audioholic Ninja
Good for them, they're either deaf or their room accustics and/or equipment sucks
I've been in this hobby for 50 yrs, owned more A/V electronics than I can count, both mid-fi to high end.
On a more serious note, was the sync issue regarding the HDMI #3 port ever resolved? Bravia Sync ON in TV and receiver? HDMI ports in TV and receiver ALL set to Enhanced mode. TV and receiver both on current firmware?

T

TheMadHatter

Audiophyte
Hello to all!

I'm close to purchasing an STR-AZ5000ES and I am pondering if using the Sony AVR will work "best" with my 2022 A95K television. What I mean is, could sticking to the same manufacturer make eARC and CEC work the most reliably (especially since CEC isn't a global standard). With my TV now and my Marantz SR7011 I can never get ARC to work reliably. I hear sound and then it cuts out every 15 seconds or so, for about 3 seconds, and then it's back. Rinse and repeat.

Thank you all for your consideration.

T

Trebdp83

Audioholic Ninja
There are no guarantees. While eARC was supposed to free folks from having to use HDMI-CEC when using eARC, that doesn't mean a particular manufacturer doesn't require HDMI-CEC to be active in the TV and also on the receiving end when using eARC.