Some Rti12 mods (pics)

M

mardelgo

Junior Audioholic
Hi. First I would like to start saying that I am not an expert, so I do not encourage any of this mods to anyone. I do it just for fun, I like to make little mods to my gear (personal touch) and in the process I spend some quality time with my dad. So, this is some mods I did to my RTi12. My Original plan was to use an active crossover instead of the passive one (thanks TLC guy for the information), so I decide to take out the crossover to see what components I need to remove, but to do so I have to disconnect the drivers (cables are to short so I couldn't remove only the crossover). So in the process I decide to do other mods: change the cables, added vertical bracing and some damping material. I take some pictures, I know many of us like to see what is "inside". I am still not very sure about the active crossover (because I do not have the means or knowledge to test the result, but maybe I do it some day just for fun (now I can access just the crossover with the new cables so it can be done easily), and give my impression. Another tweak maybe is to change the mids capacitors (and maybe bass capacitor too?) for a better ones (same value).Any recommendations are welcome.
I did one speaker at the time so I can compare them. The results: well all I can say is that the sound of the mod speaker is a little smoother, a little less “in your face” sound, (sorry no golden ears here). Pics:

M

mardelgo

Junior Audioholic

What I find out about the crossover:

The bass drivers are wire in series, and also the two mids, and the tweeter is wire out of phase from the rest of the drivers.

Last edited:
j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
The bass drivers are probably out of phase because their natural state has a phase shift from the other drivers used and in-phase resulted in a dip in response around the crossover point.