Small subwoofer for wife - Choices?

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Altho godforsaken covid thing just makes you sound loonier somewhat, but doesn't mean that use is for you or any of the rest of us....

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
I have not really listened much to the Navis yet. But, a few Lisa Gerard tracks i sampled on it sounded phenomenal. Few years ago, i had a discussion with PS Audio's CEO at a show. He went into some level of technical detail on how the big line arrays (thought they're impractical for a regular house, understandably) may be the best suited for orchestra... I have never heard a line array and i'm no speaker designer. But, i've wondered about what he said. I guess he lets you audit the Infinity IRS speakers they have at their headquarters in Colorado (if anyone decides to stop by there).
I don't think line arrays, work well in the home. I used a line array system I designed from 1977 to 1984, But I was never truly happy with it. Even though it was in a fairly large basement, you could never get far enough away from it. On the other hand I have done line arrays for large halls a couple of times, and they were very successful.

The thing about bass is that it has to be balanced and non resonant to be realistic. Don't get me wrong, if the rest of the system is excellent, then gilding the lily with clean balanced bass to 20 Hz or so completes the system. Rough crude resonant bass I so often hear is a detriment. My system covers the last octave but it is balanced, and you don't really notice the bass extension of the system, until there is low bass and sub bass to be reproduced.