Single Sub vs Dual Subs

N

norge43

Enthusiast
Hello. I'm fairly new to the audiophile world, but thanks to Audioholics I'm learning a lot. Keep up the great work.
I'm replacing my old old surround system with a 5.1 or 5.2 system and need advice concerning 1 Sub vs 2 Subs. I've read the post by Speakerman3 and the attached Harmon study. Helpful. Thanks.
My room is a typical combined open floor plan. Total measurements are 37 ft x 12 Ft x 8 ft (3552 ft 3) ceilings. Listening position at right end of room measures 14 ft x 12 ft x 8 ft ceilings (1344 ft 3). 3552 falls into a medium sized room. Listening zone much smaller but is open to rest of room.
Audioholics recommends dual Subs when possible. I called four Sub companies (HSU Research, Ascend Acoustics, RSL Speakers and SVS) for their recommendations. Interestingly, 3 of the 4 advised a single sub for my set-up. They said to focus on proper Sub choice, placement, and accurate calibration. With these, a properly chosen single Sub would be quite adequate. None said dual Subs were bad, just not needed. Try one Sub; can buy 2nd Sub later if unhappy. I don't know if the one dual Sub was an honest opinion or simply an attempt to upsell more Subs...
I found this response interesting. Of course budget is important and one good Sub would save money. Any thoughts and advice? Thanks much.

Sef_Makaro

Sef_Makaro

Audioholic
The way I understand it is that dual subs gives you more even response from the room. Meaning the bass should sound more even (volume wise) over a larger area. If you have a couple rows of seating dual would be your best bet so everyone gets the same experience. If your listening area is smaller can use one sub, making sure to position it properly in the room.

Starting with one sub is definitely the cheaper and easier route. When you go dual you have to level match them so it adds another step.