Votes: 6 66.7%
  • VTV amp

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • ATI amp

Votes: 3 33.3%

• Total voters

83benz240

Audioholic Intern
I searched but haven't found the info I'm looking for.

I haven't done much research since I ordered my Salk HT3's and 2 x 15" Rythmik subwoofers since 2012 and even then I was a total novice.

I was recommended Emotiva for the "value" and got their XPA-2 amp. I've noticed that the subwoofers can easily overpower the speakers with that setup and would often overheat the amp. Recently I moved my setup to do some dusting and one of the channels on the amp went out. While I'm waiting to get a repair estimate from Emotiva, I noticed the have a trade in program which leads me to my questions:

1. Does anyone know if XPA-DR2 amp would be a decent upgrade or could these speakers handle 2 x XPA-DR1's? I don't want to consider the XPA-DR1's if the speakers can't handle it would be a waste of money.

2. Are there other amp brands that have come along since 2012 that are a good "value" for this set up?

Thanks for any advice!

NINaudio

NINaudio

Audioholic Samurai
Salk recommends 200 watts for those speakers. Outlaw 2220's would seem to be a great fit. And with 200 watts those speakers can put out 103db at 10 ft away. Just how loud are you listening?

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord
Omg. You don't need nearly that much power for those! They're rated for 200 watts, lol.

That said yes, I'd look elsewhere than emotiva. They've lost a little support around here for refusing to service products outside warranty, even if the purchaser wants to pay for it. So if you buy from them and your product has an issue outside warranty good luck getting emotiva to fix it...

For monoblocks the Outlaw 2220s are more than enough for your speakers. They're very good amps, have all the power your speakers are rated for and are a great value.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi