Tomorrow

Tomorrow

Audioholic Ninja
Newbie here. I need help.
I have a JBL (yeah, I know, I know) speaker setup for 6.1. I listen to mostly tv/movies and some rock thru this system (all top of the line Panasonic electronics...yeah, again I know...).

JBL S312's
JBL J350 surrounds
JBL N26 back
JBL N-center
JBL S120PII sub (400W)

The problem is the sub. I get nothing but rumble, and lots of it, but no punch at all. No sharpness. Is this the nature of my setup, a faulty sub (it HAS been in the shop...it's remanufactured), or just the nature of JBL subs? I've moved it everywhere, but still no sharpness. Do I just want $2K performance out of a $400 sub? You'd think I'd get at least a 'bonk' now and then...but no. My neighbor's cheap 8" Onkyo is WAY sharper sounding.
Please help.

Tomorrow

Tomorrow

Audioholic Ninja
.....and do you think a smaller (e.g. 8" sub) would add that tightness I'm missing? Thx.

S

Sleestack

Senior Audioholic
This might be obvious advice... but, have you checked your crossover and speaker settings. I had similar complaints until I checked my speaker and corssover settings. The fronts were set to large and the crossover set too low. I changed the settings so that LFE was only directed to the subwoofer and raised the crossover to 100. It helped drastically... but only b/c my prior settings were totally wrong.

Tomorrow

Tomorrow

Audioholic Ninja
I did check all the settings. The only thing that maybe is problematic is the receiver has a setting (large/small +/- 100 Hz) for the fronts that automatically selects itself for sub/out if the setting is 'small'. I set this to 'large' to accomodate the 45 Hz and up main speakers. I assume then that my low pass xover should be set to 45 on the sub. All other settings on the sub and receiver seem straightforward enough that even dummy me got it right.

I sure wish I had discovered this forum before I spent a ton on JBL speakers, by the way!!

RJ

Tomorrow

Tomorrow

Audioholic Ninja